Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Bailey, Miller and Dumervil Selected to 2012 Pro Bowl

On Tuesday afternoon in Dove Valley, the Broncos were informed that three Denver defenders have been selected to the 2012 NFL Pro Bowl.

Cornerback Champ Bailey, rookie outside linebacker Von Miller and defensive end Elvis Dumervil will fly to Honolulu, Hawaii this January to participate in the game, marking Bailey's NFL-record eleventh selection, Dumervil's second and Miller's first of many more expected Pro Bowl seasons to come.

“It’s always exciting when you have guys going to the Pro Bowl,” Executive Vice President of Football Operations John Elway told DenverBroncos.com on Tuesday. “They’re three guys that are very deserving.”

Running back Willis McGahee, left tackle Ryan Clady and safety Brian Dawkins were announced as first alternates. If a player at their respective position cannot play in the NFL's annual All-Star Game, McGahee, Clady and Dawkins will be the respective replacements.

Quarterback Tim Tebow, punter Britton Colquitt and kicker Matt Prater are second alternates. Among Denver's alternates, Tebow seems to have the best shot of making the Pro Bowl — as fellow AFC quarterbacks Tom Brady and Ben Reothlisberger may not play in the game due to possible Super Bowl appearances and injury concerns.

The 2012 Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium on Sunday, January 29th and will be broadcast on NBC. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. (ET).

No comments: